Planning the Future

We at IKK are convinced that constant revision and innovative development are fundamental for a company’s long-term business success. IKK utilises this ethic in all aspects of its offered services and internal planning, from creating business models and new services or products, down to reviewing and developing our employees working procedures and education, as well as customer satisfaction and quality control. Our company’s vision is to develop and expand its innovative capacity, which in turn will advance and strengthen our core business services.This visionary aim has been realised in these past few years with a significant increase in our commitment to research projects and with bringing these ideas to fruition. Our commitment to innovation means we will always be ready to go one step further in developing innovative services and products, as well as supporting their successful introduction into their specialist field. This was exactly the case with our TrafficCheck project, our first independent internal development program.

Research Collaborations

The foundation for any innovation is the simple act of just having a good idea. However, at best the ideas are only the catalyst for starting an innovation process, successful innovation requires a long standing network of dependable research and development partnerships. Therefore  IKK can proudly point to its long-term cooperation with several renowned research institutions, such as the Technical University of Graz, Vienna University of Technology , the Technical University of Dresden and the AIT, Austrian Institute of Technology in Vienna. Having excellent relationships with many of our varied customers from our core business, has proved successful in the practical implementation of these innovations, in particular prototype design and development as well as the launching of the services or products into their specialist fields. It is through this to active cooperation from customers, such as the City of Graz or Vienna public transport, that our new service or product innovations can confidently enter their specialist fields.

wInterface

We at IKK understand that remaining a successful company requires an international commitment to developing new ideas and service innovations, and that is why we support this internal philosophy by utilising our valuable network of partners and customers and by pledging our extensive experience as well as the financial funding of such projects. wInterface is such a project.  When we first met with Wolfgang Winter, MSc. and Ingo Riemenschneider, PhD MSc. and they explained their innovative idea to design and manufacture prefabricated, digitally printable thermal insulation facades, for use in the construction or renovation sectors, we were enthused by the idea at once, an excellent team, a great idea, and a potentially enormous global market. Production of the first patented elements is currently underway at their manufacturing plant in Brodersdorf near Graz, and with additional pilot projects throughout Austria it will not be too far in the foreseeable future before series production readiness is realised. For further information on wInterface, visit their website www.winterface.at.

TrafficCheck

TrafficCheck provides an efficient administration tool that systematically registers and statistically evaluates the wishes and suggestions of road users and pedestrians.

TrafficCheck continuously evaluates the appraisals of road users and pedestrians at light-signal-systems (traffic lights) and implements any changes required. This service is utilised by the administrative units of a government which are responsible for the establishment, operation and maintenance of traffic signals.

TrafficCheck unifies the work processes of incident management and with its simplified interfaces and complete procedural documentation, solutions to traffic flow problems are simply and quickly realised. The quality assurance statistic tool created for TrafficCheck evaluates every aspect required in creating a quick and simple solution to traffic flow problems, from road safety and traffic flow, down to equipment condition and application. The precision and capability of TrafficCheck’s crowdsourcing data tool offers an objective view on traffic flow and reflects the effects on local road conditions.

In the utilization of crowdsourcing data and in the direct involvement of road users and pedestrians, in creating traffic flow solutions as well as their implementation, it is seen to positively benefit the public image as well as client satisfaction for the authorities involved.

TrafficCheck is based on the results of the FFG (Austrian Research Promotion Agency)-funded research project under the program ways2go. The project was awarded the VCÖ (Austrian Traffic Club) Mobility Award 2011 in the category “Technological Infrastructure”.

Learn more

Innovation & Research

Zukunft planen

Wir sind überzeugt davon, dass ein langfristiger Unternehmenserfolg eng mit ständigem Wandel und Änderungsprozessen verbunden ist. Das umfasst die Geschäftsmodelle und Kundenbeziehungen ebenso wie die Qualifikation und Arbeitsweise unserer Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen sowie auch die angebotenen Produkte und Dienstleistungen. In unserer Unternehmensvision sehen wir neben einem starken Stammgeschäft unsere Zukunft vor allem im Ausbau der Innovationskraft unseres Unternehmens. Das zeigt sich in den letzten Jahren durch eine erhebliche Ausweitung der Forschungsaktivitäten mit einer Vielzahl spannender Forschungsprojekte. Wir gehen jedoch einen Schritt weiter: Denn echte Innovationen müssen am Markt auch erfolgreich platziert sein. Genau das ist uns beispielsweise mit unserer ersten Eigenentwicklung TrafficCheck sehr gut gelungen.

IKK Innovation & Research

Forschungskooperationen

Grundstein jeder Innovation ist eine gute Idee. Ideen können jedoch bestenfalls Initialzündung für einen Innovationsprozess sein. Für erfolgreiche Innovationen braucht es ein Netzwerk an Forschungs- und Entwicklungspartnern, die langfristig zuverlässig sind. Daher kooperiert die IKK mit mehreren renommierten Forschungseinrichtungen, wie beispielsweise der TU Graz, der TU Wien, der TU Dresden und dem AIT Austrian Institute of Technology in Wien. Für die Umsetzung, Prototypenentwicklung und Markteinführung hat sich insbesondere das gute Verhältnis zu verschiedenen Kunden aus unserem Stammgeschäft bewährt. Erst durch das aktive Mitwirken von Kunden, wie beispielsweise der Stadt Graz oder den Wiener Linien, werden unsere neuen Produkte und Dienstleistungsinnovationen erfolgreich zur Marktreife gebracht.

wInterface

Neben der aktiven Eigenentwicklung von Dienstleistungsinnovationen stellen wir auch unsere Erfahrungen, unser Netzwerk an Partnern und Kunden sowie finanzielle Mittel gerne spannenden Entwicklungsprojekten wie beispielsweise wInterface zur Verfügung. Bei unserem ersten Kontakt mit DI Wolfgang Winter und DI Dr. Ingo Riemenschneider waren wir sofort begeistert von der Idee: automatisiert vorgefertigte und digital bedruckbare Vollwärmeschutzfassaden für die energetische Sanierung und den Neubau. Eine tolle Idee, ein hervorragendes Team und ein riesen Markt weltweit. Derzeit läuft bereits eine erste Produktions- und Entwicklungsanlage für die patentgeschützten Elemente und die Produktionsprozesse in Brodersdorf (Eggersdorf bei Graz). Mit laufenden Pilotprojekten in Österreich ist die Serienreife bereits annähernd erreicht. Weitere Informationen zum Produkt und zu wInterface selbst können der Website www.winterface.at entnommen werden.

IKK winterface
IKK Intelligenter Verkehr

TrafficCheck

TrafficCheck bietet ein effizientes Verwaltungstool, um die Wünsche und Anregungen der Verkehrsteilnehmer/innen systematisch zu erfassen, statistisch auszuwerten und mit diesen einfach in Interaktion zu treten.

Mit TrafficCheck wird eine kontinuierliche Evaluierung der Kundenzufriedenheit an Lichtsignalanlagen (Ampeln) umgesetzt. Anwender des Produktes sind Verwaltungseinheiten der öffentlichen Hand, die für Errichtung, Betrieb und Erhaltung von Lichtsignalanlagen verantwortlich sind.

Im Störfallmanagement werden mit TrafficCheck Arbeitsprozesse vereinheitlicht, Zuständigkeiten besser abgebildet, Schnittstellen vereinfacht und eine lückenlose Dokumentation bereitgestellt. Im Qualitätsstatistik-Tool von TrafficCheck erfolgt die Auswertung nach Verkehrssicherheit, Verkehrsablauf, Anlagenbeschaffenheit und Anlagenverfügbarkeit. Bei den Crowdsourcingdaten entsteht durch die große Anzahl an Meldungen ein objektiviertes Bild, das repräsentativ die Verhältnisse vor Ort widerspiegelt.

TrafficCheck bietet der Politik einen Imagegewinn durch die Miteinbeziehung der Verkehrsteilnehmer/innen in Entscheidungs-prozesse. Und die Stadtverwaltung erhält eine bessere Argumentation für zusätzliche Ressourcen bei Optimierungsmaßnahmen.

Die Idee zu TrafficCheck basiert auf den Ergebnissen eines von der Österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft in den Jahren 2010 bis 2012 geförderten Forschungsprojektes im Rahmen des Programms ways2go. Das Projekt wurde mit dem VCÖ Mobilitätspreis 2011 in der Kategorie Technologische Infrastruktur ausgezeichnet.

Mehr erfahren